Baseball Hall of Fame - 2024 Edition

12/31/2023 4:30 am
Rate this Blog


Rated 1 times.
It's time for my Twenty-First annual "If I had a Hall of Fame Vote" post.

My previous ballots:
2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - 2018 - 2019 - 2020 - 2021 - 2022 - 2023

A few reminders:
1. Voters can vote for up to ten players.
2. I'm a "Big Hall" guy so I voted for ten.
3. I reserve the right not to have reasonable explanations for any or all of my selections.
4. To be inducted, players need to be named on 75% of the ballots cast.
5. The real results will be announced on January 23rd.

Eligible Players:

Holdovers from last year - Bobby Abreu, Carlos Beltran, Mark Buehrle, Todd Helton, Torii Hunter, Andruw Jones, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodri­guez, Francisco Rodriguez, Jimmy Rollins, Gary Sheffield, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner

First-timers - Jose Bautista, Adrian Beltre, Bartolo Colon, Adrian Gonzalez, Matt Holliday, Victor Martinez, Joe Mauer, Brandon Phillips, Jose Reyes, James Shields, Chase Utley, David Wright

Go to Baseball Reference for player stats.

My Ballot:

Bobby Abreu - Eligible since 2020; 4th time on my ballot ('21-'24)
Carlos Beltran - Eligible since 2023; 2nd time on my ballot ('23,'24)
Adrian Beltre - Eligible since 2024; 1st time on my ballot ('24)
Mark Buehrle - Eligible since 2021; 2nd time on my ballot ('23,'24)
Todd Helton - Eligible since 2019; 5th time on my ballot ('20-'24)
Andruw Jones - Eligible since 2018; 5th time on my ballot ('20-'24)
Joe Mauer - Eligible since 2024; 1st time on my ballot ('24)
Manny Ramirez - Eligible since 2017; 5th time on my ballot ('20-'24)
Alex Rodriguez - Eligible since 2022; 3rd time on my ballot ('22-'24)
Chase Utley - Eligible since 2024; 1st time on my ballot ('24)

Dropped from last year's ballot:
Scott Rolen (Elected)
Andy Pettitte (No longer in Top Ten)
Gary Sheffield (No longer in Top Ten)

Added this year:
Adrian Beltre (First year eligible)
Joe Mauer (First year eligible)
Chase Utley (First year eligble)

Eligible, and voted for in the past, but not this year:
Andy Pettitte ('23)
Gary Sheffield ('21,'23)
Leave a Comment of your very own
Verify this code
Verify the Code in this box, or sign in, to post a comment.
click me!
There's an emoticon for how you feel!
click me!
My Files
Sign up, or login, to be able to upload files for users to see.