Baseball Hall of Fame - 2023 Edition

01/23/2023 9:16 pm
Rate this Blog


Rated 2 times.
It's time for my Twentieth annual "If I had a Hall of Fame Vote" post.

My previous ballots:
2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - 2018 - 2019 - 2020 - 2021 - 2022

A few reminders:
1. Voters can vote for up to ten players.
2. I'm a "Big Hall" guy so I voted for ten.
3. I reserve the right not to have reasonable explanations for any or all of my selections.
4. To be inducted, players need to be named on 75% of the ballots cast.
5. The real results will be announced on January 24th.

Eligible Players:

Holdovers from last year - Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle, Todd Helton, Torii Hunter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodriguez, Scott Rolen, Jimmy Rollins, Gary Sheffield, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner

First-timers - Bronson Arroyo, Carlos Beltran, Matt Cain, R.A. Dickey, Jacoby Ellsbury, Andre Ethier, J.J. Hardy, John Lackey, Mike Napoli, Jhonny Peralta, Francisco Rodriguez, Huston Street, Jered Weaver, Jayson Werth

Go to Baseball Reference for player stats.

My Ballot:

Bobby Abreu - Eligible since 2020; 2nd time on my ballot ('21-'23)
Carlos Beltran - Eligible since 2023; 1st time on my ballot ('23)
Mark Buehrle - Eligible since 2021; 1st time on my ballot ('23)
Todd Helton - Eligible since 2019; 3rd time on my ballot ('20-'23)
Andrew Jones - Eligible since 2018; 3rd time on my ballot ('20-'23)
Andy Pettitte - Eligible since 2019; 1st time on my ballot ('23)
Manny Ramirez - Eligible since 2017; 3rd time on my ballot ('20-'23)
Alex Rodriguez - Eligible since 2022; 1st time on my ballot ('22,'23)
Scott Rolen - Eligible since 2018; 4th time on my ballot ('19-'23)
Gary Sheffield - Eligible since 2015; 2nd time on my ballot ('21,'23)

Dropped from last year's ballot:
Barry Bonds (No longer eligible)
Roger Clemens (No longer eligible)
Curt Schilling (No longer eligible)
Sammy Sosa (No longer eligible)

Added this year:
Carlos Beltran (First year eligible)
Mark Buehrle (First time in Top 10)
Andy Pettitte (First time in Top 10)
Gary Sheffield (Back in Top 10)

Eligible, and voted for in the past, but not this year:
thumbnailCAW1I0O3.gifMatt - 3784 Posts
01/23/2023 @ 09:49:32 PM
 Quote this comment
Sorry this is late, I almost decided to retire from this bit, but I didn't want to disappoint the 0 of you who care.

A few notes:

1. Fred McGriff was already elected by the Veterans Committee for induction in 2023.
2. For the first time I actually thought about not voting for a full ten players, but I'd rather err on the side of not being too stingy.
3. I previously had Andy Pettitte & Jeff Kent over Mark Buehrle, but switched it this year. For now, Jeff Kent is the odd man out.
4. Newcomers for the next ballot include: Adrian Beltre, Joe Mauer, Chase Utley, David Wright, and Bartolo Colon.
Rate this comment


Rated 1 times.
Matt screwed with this at 01/23/2023 9:49:51 pm
jon.jpgJon - 3282 Posts
01/23/2023 @ 11:16:11 PM
 Quote this comment
I care. And so does Mark Buehrle and all of us who appreciate his career and how quickly he worked.
Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
thumbnailCAW1I0O3.gifMatt - 3784 Posts
01/24/2023 @ 05:15:03 PM
 Quote this comment
Scott Rolen elected, Todd Helton falls just short.
Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
Matt perfected this at 01/24/2023 5:23:51 pm
jon.jpgJon - 3282 Posts
01/27/2023 @ 01:54:14 AM
 Quote this comment
Matt Wrote - 01/23/2023 @ 09:49:32 PM


4. Newcomers for the next ballot include: Adrian Beltre, Joe Mauer, Chase Utley, David Wright, and Bartolo Colon.

Also, Denard Span. Nard Dog. One of my favs.
Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
Leave a Comment of your very own
Verify this code
Verify the Code in this box, or sign in, to post a comment.
click me!
There's an emoticon for how you feel!
click me!
My Files
Sign up, or login, to be able to upload files for users to see.