Baseball Hall of Fame - 2020 Edition

12/30/2019 10:46 pm
Rate this Blog

Rated 0 times.
It's time for my Seventeenth annual "If I had a Hall of Fame Vote" post.

My previous ballots:
2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - 2018 - 2019

A few reminders:
1. Voters can vote for up to ten players.
2. I'm a "Big Hall" guy so I voted for ten.
3. I reserve the right not to have reasonable explanations for any or all of my selections.
4. To be inducted, players need to be named on 75% of the ballots cast.
5. The real results will be announced on January 21st.

Eligible Players:

Holdovers from last year - Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Todd Helton, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, Larry Walker

First-timers - Bobby Abreu, Josh Beckett, Heath Bell, Eric Chavez, Adam Dunn, Chone Figgins, Rafael Furcal, Jason Giambi, Raul Ibanez, Derek Jeter, Paul Konerko, Cliff Lee, Carlos Pena, Brad Penny, J.J. Putz, Brian Roberts, Alfonso Soriano, Jose Valverde

Go to Baseball Reference for player stats.

My Ballot:

Barry Bonds - Eligible since 2013; 8th time on my ballot ('13-'20)
Roger Clemens - Eligible since 2013; 8th time on my ballot ('13-'20)
Todd Helton - Eligible since 2019; 1st time on my ballot ('20)
Derek Jeter - Eligible since 2020; 1st time on my ballot ('20)
Andruw Jones - Eligible since 2018; 1st time on my ballot ('20)
Manny Ramirez - Eligible since 2017; 1st time on my ballot ('20)
Scott Rolen - Eligible since 2018; 2nd time on my ballot ('19,'20)
Curt Schilling - Eligible since 2013; 6th time on my ballot ('13,'16-'20)
Sammy Sosa - Eligible since 2013; 1st time on my ballot ('20)
Larry Walker - Eligible since 2011; 5th time on my ballot ('12,'17-'20)

Dropped from last year's ballot:
Roy Halladay (elected)
Edgar Martinez (elected)
Fred McGriff (lost eligibility)
Mike Mussina (elected)
Mariano Rivera (elected)

Added this year:
Todd Helton (first-time in top ten)
Derek Jeter (first-time eligible)
Andruw Jones (first-time in top ten)
Manny Ramirez (first-time in top ten)
Sammy Sosa (first-time in top ten)

Eligible, and voted for in the past, but not this year:
thumbnailCAW1I0O3.gifMatt - 3875 Posts
12/30/2019 @ 10:56:49 PM
 Quote this comment
Ted Simmons and Marvin Miller were already elected this year by the Veterans Committee.

The backlog of players has been dealt with somewhat over the last couple of years. That said, if I had unlimited spots on my ballot, I'd probably also vote for: Bobby Abreu, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, and Gary Sheffield.
Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
jon.jpgJon - 1 bajillion posts
01/01/2020 @ 03:34:17 AM
 Quote this comment
The correct ballot is as follows:
Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter, Derek Jeter
Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
newalex.jpgAlex - I don't need to get steady I know just how I feel
01/17/2020 @ 08:21:56 PM
 Quote this comment
Top ten:
Barry Bonds
Roger Clemens
Larry Walker
Curt Schilling
Andrew Jones
Scott Rolen
Todd Helton
Derek Jeter (new)
Bobby Abreu (new)
Manny Ramirez (2017)

Dropped from last year – elected:
Mariano Rivera
Roy Halladay
Mike Mussina

Additional votes:
Sammy Sosa
Jeff Kent
Gary Sheffield
Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
thumbnailCAW1I0O3.gifMatt - Ombudsman
01/21/2020 @ 08:48:46 PM
 Quote this comment
Jeter and Walker elected. Schilling probably gets in next year.

Rate this comment

Rated 0 times.
Leave a Comment of your very own
Verify this code
Verify the Code in this box, or sign in, to post a comment.
click me!
There's an emoticon for how you feel!
click me!
My Files
Sign up, or login, to be able to upload files for users to see.