Baseball Hall of Fame - 2010 Edition

12/31/2009 1:32 pm
Rate this Blog

Rated 0 times.
It's time for my seventh annual "If I had a Hall of Fame Vote" post.

My previous ballots:
2004 ballot
2005 ballot
2006 ballot
2007 ballot
2008 ballot
2009 Ballot

A few reminders:
1. Voters can vote for up to ten players.
2. I'm a "Big Hall" guy so I voted for ten.
3. I reserve the right not to have reasonable explanations for any or all of my selections.
4. To be inducted, players need to be named on 75% of the ballots cast.
5. The real results will be announced on January 6th.

Eligible Players:

Holdovers from last year - Harold Baines, Bert Blyleven, Andre Dawson, Don Mattingly, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell

First-timers - Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier, Ellis Burks, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez, Fred McGriff, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile

Go to Baseball for player stats.

My Ballot:

Roberto Alomar - Eligible since 2010; 1st time on my ballot ('10)
Bert Blyleven - Eligible since 1998; 7th time on my ballot ('04-'10)
Andre Dawson - Eligible since 2002; 7th time on my ballot ('04-'10)
Barry Larkin - Eligible since 2010; 1st time on my ballot ('10)
Edgar Martinez - Eligible since 2010; 1st time on my ballot ('10)
Fred McGriff - Eligible since 2010; 1st time on my ballot ('10)
Mark McGwire - Eligible since 2007; 4th time on my ballot ('07-'10)
Dale Murphy - Eligible since 1999; 3rd time on my ballot ('08-'10)
Tim Raines - Eligible since 2008; 3rd time on my ballot ('08-'10)
Alan Trammell - Eligible since 2002; 7th time on my ballot ('04-'10)

Dropped from last year's ballot:
Rickey Henderson ('09) (elected)
Jim Rice ('04-'09) (elected)
Tommy John ('06,'08,'09) (lost eligibility)
Jack Morris ('04-'09) (fell out of my top 10)

Added this year (all first-time eligible):
Roberto Alomar
Barry Larkin
Edgar Martinez
Fred McGriff

Eligible, and voted for in the past, but not this year:
Jack Morris ('04-'09)
Lee Smith ('06,'07)
Leave a Comment of your very own
Verify this code
Verify the Code in this box, or sign in, to post a comment.
click me!
There's an emoticon for how you feel!
click me!
My Files
Sign up, or login, to be able to upload files for users to see.